“Everything’s Amazing and Nobody’s Happy”

Last week I was very ill (and before you speculate, it was not H1N1).  So I was very ill. In fact, I thought at one point that I was going to end up in hospital. I didn’t but what I did end up with was five days confined to my bed. During this time I slept, a lot. Occasionally I watched TV but was tired of hearing everyone complain about the H1N1 situation. So I turned to youtube to watch some of my favorite, upbeat comedians; Louis CK being the top of my list (given his recent guest role on Parks and Recreation). I watched him on Conan O’Brien doing a bit titled, “Everything’s Amazing and Nobody’s Happy”. If you haven’t seen it, you can do so here.  I think we all need to think this way a little more.

So there I was lying in bed feeling like death. And I won’t lie, complaining about it, if only to myself. Then I watched this video again and realized…I’m lying in a fleecy, pillow-laden, king-sized bed. I have access to all the clean, hot bathes I want. I have a flushable toilet to barf in. There’s a TV not 10 feet from me. I have all the tasty, nutritious Gatorade I could desire. And a medicine cabinet filled with a different pill to attack every symptom I was, just moments ago, complaining about. Let’s run through that again. Bed. Bath. Toilet. Entertainment. Nutrition. And medicine. Huh. What the hell was I complaining about?

Nowadays people just need to complain about something. Nothing is ever good enough.  As a majority, we are a spoiled, over-entitled culture who, as I said in my last post, does little to no thinking for ourselves. If the news is upset about something, we’re twice as upset. Why would we need to bother doing our own research; the news said it was true, right? We are a society who likes to be worked-up about something at all times. Frankly, I’m sick of it. We have a large majority of people who contribute very little to society and do nothing to understand today’s issues but are the first to lead the way down to parliament with petition sign in hand. Most of the time I don’t think these people understand a quarter of what they should before announcing so loudly their stance. Uneducated protesters do nothing to support their cause and only fuel the flame of ignorance.

Am I worked up about this? Sure I am. I believe in many causes, all of which I’ve taken the time to read about and understand through my own eyes; not what someone else has told me. There are a number of other issues that still confuse me and I don’t know what to believe. So I keep my mouth shut about those so as not to look the fool. I wish others would follow suit.

So yeah, last week I felt like crap. But the odds are that at some point this flu season, we’re all going to fall ill. And if you do, I hope you remember just how lucky you are. Let’s learn to appreciate more and complain less.

I am thankful for the opportunity to stay home to recuperate.  I am thankful that I was able to get the rest and medication I needed to feel better. And most importantly, I am thankful for the many friends and family who sent me daily emails of encouragement and love.

Leave a Reply

